Building an Expat Business…Speaking the Language

I am currently sat waiting for my Italian lesson to begin at the local course  in Chieri. My Italian is basic to say the least and I have found myself attending lessons for 6 hours a week to help me to improve as quickly as possible….

The ability to communicate is a skill that we all take for granted in everyday life.It is the foundation for all of our relationships be it with friends, family or in business and to find that my ability to communicate has been reduced to almost zero has been one of the greatest challenges in my move to Italy.

For the first few weeks after I arrived I could only speak with about 5 stock phrases. Hardly enough to have a grown up conversation!! Fortunately I have made friends who speak both Italian and English and thanks to their patience and my amazing tutor I feel like I am making a little progress…but not fast enough, my patience is wearing thin 😉

This was reinforced last night by several phone calls and emails which had to be made to potential new contacts. Some had a little English, I had a little Italian but I kept getting stuck!! Imagine my horror when my husband (who speaks amazingly well) had to rescue me each and everytime.

Needless to say I am back in class this morning with renewed determination and a plan to watch as much Italian TV and listen to as much Italian radio as possible.

Wish me luck….I may need it

Have a great day

Emma

#loveitaly #expat #womeninbusiness #internationalwomensday #business #laptoplifestyle

Leave a Reply

